An Update?

It has been, well, more than a good while since I’ve been back here. I’ve missed it! But like other hiatuses in the past, work/school/life/etc happens and there just aren’t enough hours in the day. So here’s a little update on what’s been going on this summer…

IMAG0341

I made eclairs for the first time ever using a recipe from Ladurée. And for once I actually liked the pastry cream I made!

IMAG0343

We recently added pointe shoes to our repertoire at Benicia Dancewear and I can now say I have put pointe snaps no-sews on more pointe shoes than I can count.

IMAG0354

 

Tropical Blondies are the epitome of an island summer. Coconut, Key Lime, White Chocolate, & Macadamia Nuts.

IMAG0361

During a cool week, I made one of my Fall staples – Cinnamon-Sugar Pull-Apart Bread. It’s pretty much the best combo of yeasty, doughy, cinnamon-sugar-ness.

IMAG0372

Mogget. And yes, she did put herself between the window and the window screen in order to hunt a bug.

IMAG0376

Boursin Stuffed Bacon Wrapped Chicken (recipe from Chrissy Teigen of So Delushious)
MAKE IT. Your tastebuds will thank you
Also, I added cream cheese to supplement the boursin. GREAT IDEA. DO IT.

IMAG0379

Serve with tomatoes (that were baked with the chicken) and sauteed spinach! Deliciousness.

IMAG0387

Savory Summer Cobbler of Cherry Tomatoes, Sauteed Onions, & Cheesy Biscuit Topping

IMAG0391

Bear #1 of Muir Woods

IMAG0392

Jimmy with Bear #2 of Muir Woods

IMAG0394

Bear #3 of Muir Woods (There was a squirrel hiding behind there)

IMAG0393

& Bear #4 of Muir Woods

IMAG0395

Muir Woods Hiking Trip with Jimmy!

IMAG0403

Pinky caught tripping out on catnip. BUSTED.

IMAG0414

Lovely flowers.

IMAG0419

Maggie the black streak. The newest addition to my grandparents’ household. It was actually a fluke that I snapped this picture of her staying still.

IMAG0421

Magnolia Bakery Style Peanut Butter Cookies (with milk chocolate chips & white chocolate chips – recipe adapted from Smitten Kitchen)
IMAG0423

Adventures in Babysitting. AKA educating kiddos in the classics (Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles 2: Secret of the Ooze).

IMAG0424

Flowers because Jimmy is secretly an expert bouquet arranger 🙂

IMAG0425

Pointe Shoe Dyeing Party!
Dyeing pointe shoes purple & red for different characters in Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland

IMAG0441

Some of the Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland principal cast! (Picture c/o Ligioso Ballet Studio)

IMAG0438

Two Year Anniversary Trip – Margaritas in Capitola

IMAG0439

Two Year Anniversary Trip – Jimmy being Jimmy

IMAG0443

Homemade Sriracha Salmon!
(Basically glaze salmon in a sriracha & brown sugar mix and bake at 375 degrees F till done; broil for crispy edges)

IMAG0407Favorite Summer Outfit for the cool but also warm weather that is brunch in SF. (And yes, that is a tutu. Dance & dancewear are pretty much everywhere in my life.)

So that is the short story of things going on right now.
Lots of good food, good company, & the work that I love :]

OH ALSO. I will be starting a new teaching job soon – middle school math. Wish me luck!

OH OH OH AND! I GOT AN INSTAGRAM. lol. Not really big news I know, but I have finally pushed aside my dislike for Instagram and am embracing it wholeheartedly. And by wholeheartedly, you know that means I’m just posting pictures of food and my pets as per usual. Teehee.
Instagram: @klerebear or find me here.

Between my jobs & school (two more semesters then I’m done!), I know that posts will continue to be sporadic over the next 6 – 8 months. BUT I promise to try to post at least 2-3 new recipes per month. And hey, with the autumn weather rolling in, you know I’ll be all over those pumpkin recipes. (Sidenote: Has anyone else noticed that Halloween candy & paraphernalia are popping up everywhere already?? It’s only July!)

Thanks for sticking with me 🙂

xx

-C

One thought on “An Update?

Leave a Reply

