Cookies Solve Everything

 

 

Sometimes you have those days where it seems like life is out to get you and everything is just incredibly overwhelming. Those days happen to us all, I know. The other day my youngest sister was experiencing this. So what do I do to help? Make a batch of cookies. Because just as the process of making the cookies is therapeutic, so is eating them. So on my lunch break from work, I rushed home and made the quickest batch of cookies I’ve ever made (25 minutes total including prep time, baking time, & delivery). Using the handful of milk chocolate chips I had left, a handful of peanut butter chips I had left, and a scoop of sweetened coconut flakes, I made “cheer up, life is actually great” cookies. And they did the trick. It’s true what they say, there’s nothing a batch of homemade cookies can’t fix :] So the next time you’re having a tough day or you know someone having a bad day, come back to this recipe and make yourself a batch of these chewy delights. I swear a smile will come to anyone who eats these.

IMAG0344

Buttery & melt in your mouth.IMAG0345

Golden deliciousness. (I feel like that’s the name of an apple, or did I make that up?)

IMAG0347Melty milk chocolate-y goodness. Guaranteed to cheer up any cloudy day!

Chocolate Chip, Coconut, & Peanut Butter Chip Cookies
(or as I now affectionately call them, Cheer Up Cookies)

2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt
1 1/2 sticks butter (softened)
3/4 cup granulated sugar
1 cup brown sugar, packed
1 1/4 tsp vanilla extract
2 eggs
1 cup milk chocolate chips
1 cup peanut butter chips (I really used somewhere between 3/4 cup and 1 cup because that’s what I had on hand, but upping it to 1 cup is certainly not going to hurt)
3/4 cup sweetened shredded coconut flakes

Preheat your oven to 375°F. Cream the butter, granulated sugar, brown sugar, and vanilla extract in a large mixer bowl. Add eggs, one at a time.

In a separate bowl, combine the flour, baking soda, and salt. Gradually beat in the flour mixture into the bowl with your wet ingredients. Stir in milk chocolate chips, peanut butter chips, coconut flakes. Mix until well combined.

On your cookie sheet/baking sheet, drop rounds of the cookie dough. I form small balls of dough with my hands, but you can also use a teaspoon to do this.

Bake for 8 – 11 minutes, or until the edges are just about golden brown, and the cookies are “set”. Meaning they do not wiggle wobble when you’re moving the cookie sheet. Allow to cool for a few minutes before removing from cookie sheet, otherwise your cookies will still be too hot and may break as you remove them.

Place on a cookie rack to cool (and if you’re like me, you will also burn your tongue at this point as you insist on eating one that still piping hot from the oven – but we all know it’s worth it lol).

Chocolate chip cookies are always a great cheer up gift, but the surprising combo of milk chocolate, peanut butter, and coconut makes for an intriguing “my mouth can’t help but smile at this candy-like” combo.

On a different note, is everyone ready for St. Patrick’s Day? CORNED BEEF AND CABBAGE! Ahhh I’m so excited. I have a slightly unhealthy love for corned beef and all its fatty goodness. Sigh, cannot wait. What are your plans for St. Patty’s Day?

xx

-C

3 thoughts on “Cookies Solve Everything

  1. Plans for St. Paddy’s… a heavy breakfast, doing some research on ballet classes and then setting all that aside when I start drinking early with friends. It’s been awhile, Claire but I hope everything is going well.

Leave a Reply

