Hello & Happy 1st Day of March!

Oh hey there! It’s been a while. No, I haven’t forgotten about you or about sharing delicious treats. But sometimes life happens. Sometimes you get sick for three weeks straight and refuse to do anything except sleep. Not that I was a pill to deal with these last few weeks or anything (Also, my sympathies to anyone who had this weird flu/cold thing going around the last month – it was terrible and I’m still fighting it). Anyway, the point of the matter is that I’m back, at least for today.

So while I was sick, I decided that I had to have peanut butter caramel corn. Why did I have to have that? Who knows. But I was insistent that I was going to make some and eat it while I watched Christopher’s Wheeldon’s Alice in Wonderland ballet on dvd (such a fun ballet to watch!). I searched for a few recipes but didn’t really like their ingredients so I basically just modified my mom’s regular caramel corn recipe.

IMAG0319

Peanut butter. Caramel. Popcorn. The best sweet salty snack.

IMAG0318

I may or may not have eaten this whole bowl. No, really, I swear I didn’t.

IMAG0317Okay fine. Maybe I did eat 3/4 of the bowl of this candy coated snack. It was just so good!

I know this seems more like an autumn time snack, but I think it’s delicious for whenever.

Peanut Butter Caramel Popcorn

Modified from my mother’s recipe (I don’t have exact measurements on any of this btw, it’s really more a lot of eyeballing than anything else)

On the popcorn, you can make some microwavable popcorn, then set it aside and make the caramel. Or you can airpop some kernels, or pop them in a large soup pot or dutch oven, or whatever you have. The choice is your’s on that. But if you’re popping your own, don’t forget a quick sprinkling of salt.

Now onto the caramel.

2/3 cup light corn syrup
3/4 cup dark brown sugar, packed
4 tablespoons butter (or 1/2 a stick)
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2/3 cup peanut butter, chunky

In a large pot (large enough to hold all of your popcorn), combine the sugar, corn syrup, butter, and vanilla extract. Stir and bring to a boil. (Keep a close eye on this, you don’t want your sugar burning. Also take care not to burn yourself. Hot sugar is not the business.) Cook for 3 – 5 minutes, or until the sugar begins to caramelize. Remove from heat and stir in the peanut butter. Pour your prepared popcorn into the pot, using a rubber spatula, stir to coat. Carefully stir until all of the popcorn is coated.

Allow to cool so that the candy coating will harden. (I have also seen recipes where you bake the popcorn on a baking sheet at 250 degrees F for about an hour – but I was too impatient for this, so I just let it harden for a few minutes then ate it. Do you have the patience to wait an hour for popcorn?? Seriously, who does that?)

Serve alongside a fun movie!

Also, since we’re talking fun things to have with movies. I’ve discovered my new favorite way to drink champagne. (What? You don’t drink champagne with movies? I see no reason as to why not.) 
IMAG0330

Frozen Berries. I saw this idea on Pinterest over a year ago and was like oh yea, that’s a good idea, I should do that. And then I just never did. But the other day my sister was given a bottle of champagne. So what do we do? Go buy precut frozen strawberries and put on episodes of Once Upon A Time. Yea, I’m still obsessing over that show. It’s so good! You should watch it.
IMAG0331

Strawberries fizzle and break apart in the champagne, giving you these nice little pieces of sweetness every now and then.

Simple Champagne Cocktail

1 bottle chilled champagne
1 bag frozen berries (strawberries, blueberries, raspberries, etc..)

In a champagne flute, place 4 – 5 small berries. Tilt the flute and pour champagne at an angle, taking care to not overflow the glass as the champagne will fizzle when it meets the berries.

If you wanted to be extra fancy, you could place all of the berries on a fancy skewer as seen here.

(Via Pinterest)

You could also be super fancy like Kris of Young Married Chic and rim your glasses in edible star glitter, as seen here.


(Via Young Married Chic)

Simple simple. Easy things for a movie party? Why yes, I think so. All that is missing is some gourmet homemade pizza or nachos, and some awesome movies. Oh the decisions. Audrey Hepburn night? Alfred Hitchcock night? Watching The Help & making a homemade chocolate pie to serve while watching the movie? Lol. I amuse myself. But yes, movie night with delicious easy treats. It should happen sooner rather than later, don’t you think?

Also, I can’t believe it’s already here but…Happy 1st Day of March! The start of the year flew by. But I’m excited as it’s time to look forward to springtime weather, Pi Day (PIE! 3/14!), St. Patrick’s Day, Easter & Easter dinner & Easter egg hunts!, and the start of bbq-ing season.

Happy Unofficial Start of Spring!

xx

-C

 

One thought on “Hello & Happy 1st Day of March!

Leave a Reply

