Monte Cristo Wrap

Ok guys, I have to tell you, sometimes I eat weird things. Yesterday I had this idea that I wanted to make a turkey wrap for lunch, and for some reason I decided that I wanted to put strawberry preserves in it. I know what you’re thinking – “strawberry? Really?” It’s really not that weird though, is it? It’s kind of like when I make leftover Thanksgiving wraps with turkey, cream cheese, stuffing, mustard, and cranberry sauce. Cranberry, strawberry, they’re pretty similar right? …yea okay…strawberry is not the same as cranberry at all. I know. But this combo just sounded so good. Savory and sweet.

It occurred to me a few hours later that this is actually pretty similar to a Monte Cristo Sandwich, which is served with powdered sugar and a side of jelly or preserves. Except this doesn’t involve French Toast or being fried with butter. So I guess I would consider this a “healthier” version of a Monte Cristo. Now don’t get me wrong, this still has cream cheese and cheese in it, so as far as truly being healthy, I doubt it falls in that category. But compared to a regular Monte Cristo, yes I would say it’s pretty healthy. Or maybe I’m just deluding myself. Who knows? All I know is I enjoyed this as a quick, easy, and filling lunch.

IMAG0308Layers of flavor.

IMAG0309

Ready to be wrapped and taken with me to work. In the corner is the BEST dijon mustard ever btw.

Monte Cristo Wrap

1 or 2 flour tortillas or whole wheat wraps (depending if you want one or two)
Cream Cheese
2 slices of Swiss or Gouda Cheese
Turkey lunch meat (or ham if you wish)
Dijon Mustard (I highly recommend Maille – usually available at Safeway)
Strawberry Preserves

Lay out your tortillas or wrap. Spread cream cheese across entire surface. Spread a layer of mustard on top of the cream cheese. Layer your slices of cheese in a vertical column. I like to tear the cheese into smaller strips to fit into a straight line. Dollop little spoons of the strawberry preserves (more or less, depending on what you want). Layer a few slices of turkey meat on top of that, again in a vertical column. Roll. And then either wrap up to take with you on the go or eat right there. (Note: these should be kept refrigerated due to the cream cheese, cheese, and turkey).

It’s not that weird, I swear! Try it before you knock it. Do you have any weird flavor combos that you enjoy? Tell me I’m not alone on this!

Cheers to the start of a productive week!

xx

-C

2 thoughts on “Monte Cristo Wrap

Leave a Reply

