Lemon Garlic Chicken & Other Stuff

 

So the other day I was tweeting and posting on facebook (read: complaining publicly) about how I couldn’t think of a dinner plan. Being the good blogger I am, I started perusing my favorite food blogs for dinner inspiration. I ended up coming across a recipe I had previously bookmarked – Lemon Garlic Bacon Chicken from So Delushious (which is actually a modified version of Ina Garten’s Lemon and Garlic Roast Chicken).

I realized though as I was searching for meals that I loved the fact that Chrissy of So Delushious posted about what she served with this main dish of chicken. Throughout my searching, I would come up with awesome ideas for main dishes and then be stumped on what to make for side dishes. Not that I don’t totally love oven roasted vegetables (I have no problem eating them every day), but sometimes the other people I feed would like to try other side dishes. Anyway, the point of this rant is that I like when people make suggestions of what to serve with whatever recipe is being shared (i.e. Chrissy’s chicken served with awesome green beans). So, I will now try to do that whenever I share recipes. Ok I’ll stop now. Food?

IMAG0290

Crispy Oven Roasted PotatoesIMAG0291

Garlic Green Beans

IMAG0289

And for the main course….CHICKEN. Crispy yet moist and delicious.IMAG0292

The dinner I served at 9:45pm because I decided to make this at 7:30pm. Sometimes my meal making decisions are not the most thought out. Luckily I feed people that easily forgive if the food is tasty.

Disclaimer: Okay so this recipe is a modification of a modification, and sadly does not involve bacon. I would have added bacon if I had any, but I was already starting dinner at 7:30pm so picking up bacon from the store just wasn’t going to happen. I’m sure it’s an awesome addition, but after tasting this version, it seemed unnecessary.

Lemon Garlic Chicken

Adapted from So Delushious & Ina Garten


8 – 10 bone-in chicken thighs (with skin, preferably)
Olive Oil
5 tablespoons butter
3 lemons
10 peeled cloves of garlic, roughly diced (garlic is awesome, so personally I think the more, the better)
Cayenne
Seasoning Salt (Lawry’s)
Fresh Ground Black Pepper
Salt
One Yellow Onion, quartered
A handful of baby carrots, or 4 large carrots, peeled and diced
2 cups of chicken stock (I use Knorr powder, so two cups of cold water with 2 tablespoons of the powder)

Preheat your oven to 400 degrees F. Arrange your chicken thighs in a roasting pan. Season both sides of the chicken thighs with salt, pepper, cayenne, and seasoning salt. Just a quick sprinkle on both sides. Drizzle olive oil over all of the chicken thighs.


Chrissy recommends mincing your garlic until it is a paste-like consistency and then spreading it on the chicken thighs. I instead left them as decent size little chunks (that’s what those extra brown bits are on top of the chicken in the pictures above) – when they are broiled, I find it’s nice to run into those little pieces of burnt garlic. So this part is up to you. Either mince or dice your garlic, and place on top of the chicken thighs.

Arrange the carrots, onion, and lemon amongst the chicken in the roasting pan. Season with more salt, cayenne, pepper, and seasoning salt.

Pour the chicken broth into the roasting pan, taking extra care to not hit the tops of the chicken thighs, so that the garlic stays put. Place the pats of butter throughout the roasting pan. I broke up the 5 tablespoons into smaller pieces so I could place it all throughout the roasting pan.

Roast for 30 minutes on 400 degrees F. Reduce the heat to 375 degrees F and roast for another 30 – 35 minutes, or until the juices run clear. Sporadically baste the chicken with the juices from the pan (or if you’re me, spoon some of the juices onto the chicken – same thing. tamata tomato).

I like to cut into the piece that I will likely be eating as I don’t care about disfigured food. But I like to save the nice ones for everyone else. Check that the juices are running clear and the chicken is cooked.

Broil for 5 – 10 minutes, watching the whole time so that your chicken doesn’t burst into flames. (I have an irrational fear of causing things to burst into flames if I use the broiler…my mom swears it happens). Anyway, broil until the skin is nice and brown.

Serve on a platter with a few spoonfuls of the juices from the pan.

I like to also serve the carrots because I like carrots. Also, good luck getting this to the table without people coming over to pick off the crispy skin.

It’s scrumptious and reminds me of Thanksgiving flavors.

Crispy Oven Roasted Potatoes

Recipe by me

7 Russet Potatoes (or whatever you have on hand), washed, eyes removed, and chopped into chunks (skin on)
Olive Oil
Garlic Salt
Fresh Ground Pepper

If you are making the chicken above, when you lower the heat to 375 degrees F, you’ll be all set for the potatoes. Or if you’re not, preheat your oven to 375 degrees F. Line a baking sheet with foil. Arrange your potatoes so they are all flat and not overlapping at all. Drizzle with olive oil, garlic salt, and pepper.

Roast in the oven for 30 – 35 minutes, or until tender and slightly brown. I would recommend turning the baking sheet about halfway through cooking to ensure even baking.

Garlic Green Beans
Adapted from Kitchen Parade Veggie Venture

1 pound Green Beans, cleaned and with the ends removed
Olive Oil (about 2 tablespoons)
4-5 cloves Garlic, chopped into small chunks or slices
Salt
Fresh Ground Black Pepper
1/2 cup Water
1/2 teaspoon Sugar

In a skillet, heat the olive oil over medium high heat. Add the garlic and sauté until the garlic is a medium golden brown color. Add the green beans (be careful and make sure that they are dry or else the water + oil will create lots of splattering). Sauté the green beans and garlic, seasoning with salt and pepper to your liking. Continue to sauté until the green beans begin to wilt, about 4 – 5 minutes. Dissolve the sugar in the water, then pour the water over the green beans. Place a lid on the skillet and allow to steam for 5 – 6 minutes or until most of the water is evaporated. The beans should still be bright green. Serve with the remaining syrupy liquid.

And there you have it, a complete meal! All that’s missing is dessert (or is it? Reese’s Blondies anyone?)

Okay, back to the hectic-ness that has been this week.

xx

-C

One thought on “Lemon Garlic Chicken & Other Stuff

Leave a Reply

