Oatmeal-Peanut Butter Sandwich Cookies

I am a chocolate-peanut butter combo kind of girl. If you’ve ever looked at my Pinterest board – Desserts I will be making in the near future – you know that I love the combination of peanut butter and chocolate, since like 80% of the recipes on the board are titled chocolate-peanut butter blah blah. My favorite candy is a Reese’s cup, my favorite snack is a spoon of Skippy Chunky Peanut Butter with a spoon of Nutella or instead of Nutella, a few chocolate chips, and my favorite desserts always include peanut butter and chocolate. It’s just a fact. Peanut Butter and Chocolate. The best combination since PB&J. But I do try to branch out every now and then and try non-chocolate-peanut butter treats. So right now, since my mom is on a no-chocolate kick for health reasons, I’ve been looking for delicious chocolate-free baked goods and desserts. Which is actually more difficult than you might think. (If you have any recommendations, I will gladly take them! My mom has a huge sweet tooth so it’s been quite difficult for her to function without desserts, as I’m sure you can all imagine.)

So I started perusing my favorite food blogs in search of desserts/baked goods that involved oatmeal (since I have a huge bag of quick cooking steel cut oats right now), and possibly peanut butter, because we all know peanut butter makes everything delicious. I searched for a while and then came across the magnificent – Joy the Baker’s Oatmeal Sandwich Cookies with Creamy Peanut Butter Filling! I was sold. I like to think of these as a nutter butter on crack.

IMAG0267Oatmeal cookies cooled and ready for frosting!

IMAG0268I like chunky peanut butter so it’s chunky yet creamy peanut butter frosting

IMAG0269frost, sandwich, stack, repeatIMAG0271

Look at that peanut butter frosting oozing out the sides, you know you want one

IMAG0270

Sandwiched and ready to eat!

Oatmeal-Peanut Butter Sandwich Cookies

Adapted from Joy the Baker

Cookies:
1/2 cup (1 stick) butter, softened
1 cup dark brown sugar, packed
1 large egg
1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1 cup steel cut oats (quick-cooking – I like Bob’s – these add a nice crunch)
1 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 tablespoon ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg

Peanut Butter Frosting:
1/2 cup chunky peanut butter
3 tablespoons butter, at room temperature
1 cup powdered sugar
3 – 4 tablespoons milk

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees F. Cream together the butter and sugar in a stand mixer. Add the egg and vanilla extract. Beat until combined. In a separate bowl, throughly combine the flour, oats, baking powder, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, and nutmeg. Add this mixture to the wet mixture, until fully incorporated.

Using a teaspoon (yes, a teaspoon, we want these cookies small) – scoop out some of the cookie dough and roll into a ball using your hand. Place onto your baking sheet about 1 1/2 inches apart or so. (You may want to line your baking sheet with parchment or a silpat – I was out of parchment so I did one batch on silpat and one without – they came up fine, only one cookie broke.) Keep in mind these are sandwich cookies so we need an even amount of cookies. (Though if you happen to end up with an odd number of cookies I definitely won’t judge if you pop that one into your mouth while frosting the rest.)

Bake at 350 degrees F for 10 – 12 minutes (this will vary depending on your oven) or until just set. 10 minutes was actually the perfect amount for me. Allow to cool for 5 minutes before removing from the baking sheet.

While those cool, let’s make frosting!

I wouldn’t say I abuse my KitchenAid Stand Mixer, I would say that I’m getting my money’s worth out of it – lol. SO, in a stand mixer, using the paddle attachment – blend together the peanut butter, butter, powdered sugar, and milk. Start by adding just 2 tablespoons of milk, and then adding more as necessary. If you add too much milk, no worries, just add a spoon more of peanut butter and a few spoons more of powdered sugar. Ta da – instafix! You want the frosting thick enough to hold its shape but still thin enough that it’s spreadable. Play around with consistency and see what you like.

When the cookies are completed cooled, get your frosting, stack your cookies, stream your favorite show you’ve been marathoning (oh wait, that might just be a step for me – I’ve been streaming Once Upon A Time and Homeland every time I cook lately), and get to frosting and sandwiching!

Cookie, frosting (and when I say frosting, I mean slather it on – no one likes a cookie with minimal frosting), another cookie, smoosh together (yea, I said smoosh), and stack. Or put in your mouth.

Joy recommends storing these in the fridge in an airtight container, which I have to say was the best advice ever. It gives the flavors a chance to combine if you leave them overnight, and it also keeps the frosting firm so it’s not goozing all over the place when you bite into the cookie. It also slows people down from eating all of the cookies at once. Not that I do that kind of thing.

Wow, just re-read this and there are quite a few words of questionable origin. But that’s just what these cookies do, people. They’re so awesome that you want to make up new words to describe them.

Personally, I think these would be awesome dipped in chocolate, but I guess that would be kind of overkill, and it kind of defeats the purpose of a chocolate-free dessert for my mom. BUT…it is something to file away for an attempt at a later date.

Quick update on me: I’m taking the CSET Math subtest II (my last one!) later this week so you will either hear from me in a few days crying and drowning my sorrows in cookies, or happy and celebrating by making tasty treats. Either way, more recipes soon, but I’ll be taking a break for a few days to focus on studying and work.

Wish me luck!

xx

-C

4 thoughts on “Oatmeal-Peanut Butter Sandwich Cookies

  1. I am totally with you on this onw. There is nothing better. I am the person who will eat it with a spoon. Or sometime for a treat roll little spoonfuls of peanut butter in powdered chocolate. This cookies look mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm.

Leave a Reply

