Double Chocolate Peanut Butter Cookies + 12 Days of Desserts

I’m in busy busy mode these days which means very little time for blogging. We are in the week countdown to Christmas and I have maybe 3 gifts purchased o_O I’ll head out to purchase gifts tomorrow…or maybe I’ll sit in bed tomorrow morning with a cup of tea and my laptop and just pay a ton in shipping to get everything here by Christmas instead. Sigh. I feel like this happens every year. Oh well.

Amazingly I did have time last week to make these delicious double chocolate peanut butter cookies. They lasted 5 whole days inside my Santa cookie jar. Slightly out of sight = slightly out of mind. So I got them to last 5 days instead of 1. lol.

IMAG0204

Chocolatey-peanut buttery dough.

IMAG0203

Ready for the oven!
IMAG0205

COOKIES!
IMAG0207So we have peanuts from crunchy peanut butter, semi-sweet chocolate chips, dark chocolate chips, AND cocoa powder!

Double Chocolate Peanut Butter Cookies

Recipe adapted from Brooklyn Decker

2 1/3 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 cup unsweetened natural cocoa
(I recommend Ghirardelli)
1 teaspoon baking soda
Pinch fine salt
1 1/2 sticks butter, softened
3/4 cup packed brown sugar
3/4 cup granulated sugar
1 cup crunchy peanut butter
1 1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 eggs

1 1/2 cups chocolate chips (I used a mix of semi-sweet and dark chocolate chips since that’s what I had on hand – peanut butter chips would be an awesome addition too!)

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.
Combine the flour, cocoa, baking soda and salt in a medium bowl. Set aside. Cream the butter and sugars together in a large bowl with an electric mixer until fluffy. Add the peanut butter, vanilla and eggs – mix on low. Stir in the flour-cocoa mixture until just mixed. Fold in the chocolate chips.

Drop a heaping tablespoonful of dough onto baking sheets, leaving 2 inches between each cookie to allow them to spread (I like to roll them into balls as I do with my chocolate chip cookies). Bake until set, but still soft to touch, 8 to 10 minutes. Cool for 2 minutes on baking sheet, then transfer cookies to wire rack to cool completely.

Incredibly decadent. That’s how three different people described these cookies to me after tasting them. Personally, I just like to describe them as incredibly delicious. But that’s me.

These are a pretty quick cookie to make and the recipe makes a good amount, so if you’re looking for a good cookie for a cookie exchange or as a gift, I would absolutely recommend these. They also stay quite soft and tasty if stored in a cookie jar. MAKE THEM!

And since I didn’t have time to do the 12 days of desserts this year, here’s a list of last year’s desserts.

Day 1: Homemade Twix Bars or Millionaire Shortbread
Day 2: Chocolate Chip Cookies
Day 3: Cookie Truffles
Day 4: Sweet Almond Macarons
Day 5: Chocolate Sable Cookies
Day 6:  Salted Caramels
Day 7: Dark Chocolate Mint Truffles
Day 8: Chocolate Peanut Butter Bars
Day 9: Mint Chocolate Tart
Day 10: Samoas Bark
Day 11: Christmas Fudge
Day 12: Pistachio-Chocolate Buche de Noel

I will hopefully be back with more posts later this week once things slow down, but we’ll see.

So in case I don’t get back here before Christmas…

Merry Christmas to all of you! & Happy Baking!

I hope you all have a wonderful holiday season filled with joy, delicious food, & the best of company.

xx

-Claire

2 thoughts on “Double Chocolate Peanut Butter Cookies + 12 Days of Desserts

  1. Pingback: Do You Even Cook, Bro? « jd candidate who figure skates

Leave a Reply

