Sugar Cookies

I have been incredibly busy this last week due to work so blogging had to take a minor pause. But now I’m back! At least for today.

So, last Sunday I embarked on a cookie extravaganza. I’ve only made sugar cookies a few times in my life and I have to say, I’m really just not a fan of sugar cookies when it comes down to it (I know, people are gasping now) – I would much rather make a delectable, chewy chocolate chip cookie instead. BUT when I found this recipe from Brown Eyed Baker for Lofthouse Style Sugar Cookies, I decided to give it a try. I do love the soft sugar cookies and pile of colored sugar masquerading as frosting and decor on top. In my house, these types of cookies are called Coma Cookies, for the reason of the sugar coma that almost immediately follows consumption of one of these cookies. lol.

Anyway, so last Sunday consisted of waking up early, making cookie dough, letting it chill, and then a few hours later, rolling, cutting, baking, & decorating. Was it worth it? OH YES.

IMAG0188One pile of cookies post-baking.

IMAG0189Christmas tree cookies cooling so frosting can happen! I may or may not have eaten 3 unfrosted cookies while they cooled. Maybe.

IMAG0190

MORE COOKIES! I only have one cooling rack, so once they were cooled they had to be transferred to plates. That’s what I should ask for this Christmas, a cookie cooling rack!

IMAG0196

A few decorated trees. That’s green Almond Buttercream Frosting just FYI. And oh yes, those are mini green sprinkles with red centers that you spy in the top corner.IMAG0197

NONPAREILS AND SPRINKLES!

I tend to go a bit crazy when I have nonpareils, jimmies, and sprinkles. Especially if they’re holiday themed. Amazingly, my house is NOT covered in nonpareils right now. I know, shocking.

So yea, this is like maybe 1/10 of the cookies that were actually made. But I’m not one to let cookies go to waste so that was perfectly fine 🙂

Soft Sugar Cookies with Almond Buttercream Frosting

Recipe adapted from Brown Eyed Baker

Cookies:
6 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon baking powder
½ teaspoon salt
1 cup butter, at room temperature
2 cups granulated sugar
3 eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 teaspoon almond extract

1½ cups sour cream

In the bowl of a stand mixer with the flat beater attached, cream the butter and granulated sugar at medium speed until light and fluffy, about 3 minutes. Scrape down the sides of the bowl with a rubber spatula as needed. Add the eggs, one at a time, beating until each is incorporated. Add the vanilla, almond extract, and sour cream and beat at low speed until combined.

Add the dry ingredients (flour, baking soda, baking powder, & salt) and mix until just combined, scraping down the bowl as needed. Dough will be sticky. Flatten the dough into a rectangle about 1½ inches thick, then wrap with plastic wrap. Chill in the refrigerator overnight or at least two hours until firm.

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F. Line large baking sheets with parchment paper; set aside.

Flour your countertop, your rolling pin, and the top of the dough. Again, the dough is sticky! Roll the dough out to about ¼-inch thickness. Using your choice of cookie cutter (I chose trees for Christmas!), cut out shapes and transfer to a baking sheet. Bake for 9-11 minutes, until pale golden. Immediately transfer cookies to a wire rack to cool. Cool cookies completely before frosting.

Almond Buttercream Frosting:
1 cup unsalted butter, at room temperature
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 teaspoon almond extract

4 cups powdered sugar
Pinch salt
6 Tablespoons heavy cream (+ 1 or 2 more Tablespoons if the frosting is too thick)

In a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, cream together the butter, vanilla extract, and almond extract. Slowly mix in the powdered sugar and the pinch of salt. Once smooth and creamy, add in heavy cream, 1 tablespoon at a time, then mix at medium-high speed for a minute or two until light and fluffy. If using food coloring, add at this time, mix until combined. (For the green of my frosting, I used 8 drops green, 2 drops blue.)

Once the cookies are completely cooled, go crazy with frosting and sprinkles!

These cookies stay soft and tasty for quite a while if in an airtight container.

I definitely plan to keep these in my reserves as my go-to seasonal sugar cookie. Try them out! They’re also a great cookie for kids to decorate 🙂

More cookie recipes coming soon!

xx

-C

2 thoughts on “Sugar Cookies

Leave a Reply

