Snickerdoodle Blondies

Snickerdoodles. Who names a cookie a snickerdoodle? Every time I hear snickerdoodle I ask that. I didn’t even realize such a cookie existed until I started working at Starbucks when I was in high school – I remember the shocked faces when I asked “What’s a snickerdoodle?” Once it was explained, I went through the following thought process…

Me: A cinnamon-sugar cookie, hmm, sounds like it’ll be good – I like cinnamon-sugar toast a whole lot, so throw in a cookie, that must be amazing!

Plus, people raved about Snickerdoodles so I figured they must be pretty good. Sigh. High expectations are never a good thing for food. I was extremely let down when I did finally try one. Granted, these were Snickerdoodles from a Starbucks bakery, but in later years I tried Snickerdoodles from legitimate bakeries and always ended up let down. Just what is the appeal of these cookies? I don’t see it!! I love the combination of cinnamon and sugar and I love cookies, so why is it that these cookies are such a GIANT LETDOWN?? It’s something that’s bothered me for years.

Anyway…recently I had an overwhelming craving for something with cinnamon and sugar. I wasn’t in a chocolate mood but I wanted some kind of doughy, sweet, chewy, cinnamon-y/sugar-y dessert treat (and no, I was not craving Chai Spiced Cinnamon Rolls). And that’s when I discovered these…SNICKERDOODLE BLONDIES. Blondies are amazing pretty much always, so subtract chocolate and add in cinnamon and sugar. I think we still have a winner! So I embarked on a mission to make a Snickerdoodle dessert that wasn’t a giant disappointment. And I succeeded!

Cinnamon SugarΒ Goodness. That’s what we have here.

Do you see those little sweet crystals and that crunchy top?

Mmm…

I don’t know if you can see it, but these are dense little suckers that are reminiscent of dense, moist chocolate brownies, but obviously minus the chocolate. AND they have a crunchy sugary top, which I don’t know, just makes them an awesome balance of everything.

Snickerdoodle Blondies (Actually I just want to call them Cinnamon Sugar Blondies because I still don’t like the name Snickerdoodle, but that’s me)
Recipe by me :]

1 stick (1/2 cup) butter, softened
1/2 cup granulated sugar (aka white sugar)
1/2 cup brown sugar
1/4 tsp salt
1 egg
1 Tablespoon vanilla extract
1 cup all purpose flour

Topping
2 Tablespoons granulated sugar (white sugar)
2 teaspoons cinnamon

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees F. Butter an 8×8 inch glass baking dish (or you can spray it with Pam or whatever you have; I just prefer to take the stick of butter I plan to use in the recipe, and quickly just run it across all the sides and the bottom of the dish before I soften the stick in the microwave).

If your butter is already room temperature, that’s great. If not, just pop it in the microwave for 10-15 seconds or until it’s soft. In a stand mixer, cream your butter and sugar. Add in the vanilla extract and egg. Mix until combined. Then add the flour and salt. Mix until everything is thoroughly combined. The dough should be very very thick.

Scoop (you won’t be able to pour due to how thick the dough is) your dough into the prepared baking dish and spread evenly.

In a small bowl, combine your 2 Tablespoons sugar and 2 teaspoons cinnamon. Using either a sifter or a small slotted spoon, sprinkle the cinnamon-sugar mixture over the dough. If you do not have a sifter (and are too lazy to find a slotted spoon as I was), just carefully sprinkle the mixture over the dough, taking care not to pour too much in one spot. Pat the cinnamon-sugar topping gently into the top of the dough.

Bake for 20 – 25 minutes or until the edges are golden brown. Because oven temperatures vary, I would recommend checking after 15 minutes and pricking with a toothpick. If the toothpick comes out clean, remove from the oven. These should seem slightly undercooked when you pull them out.

Let cool for 10 minutes before slicing. Slice into small bite-sized bars. Again, these should seem like super most moist, dense brownies, but you know, without the chocolate. A nice crunchy sugary top, with a soft, dense, chewy inside.

Enjoy!

FINALLY, a Snickerdoodle dessert I can get along with. I now understand the appeal of Snickerdoodles! No, actually I still don’t. But I do understand the appeal of these Snickerdoodle blondies. Try them!

Super quick and easy. And a great dessert for when I’m not wanting chocolate (but really how often does that happen?). I think these will make a great addition to tea time or to put out with appetizers during your holiday gatherings :]

Happy Wednesday and the start of the 2 week countdown to Thanksgiving! My menu planning will be coming soon!

xx

-C

3 thoughts on “Snickerdoodle Blondies

  1. Oh man until right now I never knew what it was (is that embarrassing to admit?). I’ve heard the name but have never tried one….. I might just try one, I’ll let you know how it goes.

Leave a Reply

