First Pumpkin Bread of the Season

Second week of September? Autumn has begun you say? Then I say it’s time for some homemade pumpkin bread! I was actually at the grocery store to get things to make dinner but there was this giant display of Libby’s Pure Pumpkin cans, how could I possibly resist? This can made it a whole 24 hours in my house before I cracked it open to make some delicious pumpkin bread. The recipe I use is essentially Libby’s but with some tweaks from my great grandmother. There’s a wooden plaque that hangs in my house with my great grandmother’s recipe on it (with some lovely pumpkin artwork from my grandmother).

Pumpkin, flour, egg, and other stuff. Or Pumpkin Goop as I call it.

In the oven, ready to turn into delicious treats! On the top left, jack-o-lantern moulds [which unfortunately doesn’t seem to be available any more – see here] & on the top right mini loaf pans [also not available any more, what the heck…oh well, see here], and on the bottom, a larger stoneware loaf pan [I think this is the same one – also works wonderfully for other breads, like the beer-cheddar-mustard pull-apart bread or for meatloaf].

Complete! (except the large loaf, that took like an hour and fifteen to finish)

Jack-o-lantern shaped pumpkin bread?

And the final product, out of their baking containers. Sadly the jack-o-lanterns didn’t hold their shape well. You can kind of see the face, but not too well. See top right corner for the best one. I think next time I shall put raisins in for the face. Or something like that.

Anyway… the recipe!

Pumpkin Bread

Courtesy of Libby’s/my great-grandmother

3 1/2 c. all-purpose flour
1/4 tsp. baking powder
2 tsp. baking soda
1 1/2 tsp. salt
1 tsp. nutmeg
2 tsp cinnamon
1 1/2 c. each granulated white sugar and packed brown sugar
1 c. oil
1lb can Libby’s 100% Pure Pumpkin (NOT THE PUMPKIN PIE FILLING!)
4 eggs
1 c. each raisins and nuts (optional – I put raisins in all the loaves and left the jack-o-lanterns plain…I like both. As a person with weird nut allergies I tend to skip nuts. But pecans are good.)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.
Mix the oil and pumpkin (the whole can!). Sift together flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, salt and spices, and add to the pumpkin-oil mixture. Stir together well. Add eggs, one at a time, blending thoroughly. Pour into 2 greased and floured 9×5-inch loaf pans. (Or do like me and put it into any container you feel like! My great grandmother’s choice was always coffee cans, but as my coffee always comes in bags these days, it’s difficult to get my hands on those. Don’t over fill whatever container you do end up using though as the loafs will puff up quite a bit. I would recommend 2/3 full as a general rule. Depending on what type of container you use, you will also need to adjust the cooking time. For example, with the jack-o-lanterns and mini loaf pans, these were done after 25 – 30 minutes. Whereas the large loaf pan took closer to 1 hour 15 minutes. If you want case by case advice, feel free to leave a comment and I can give you my best estimate for cooking time.)

If you do use the 9×5-inch loaf pans, bake for approximately 50 to 60 minutes or until a toothpick comes out relatively clean. Cool for 5 minutes. Remove from pans. Place on wire rack to cool.

Eat with cream cheese! And if it’s no longer warm, microwave it for 20 seconds – I like it warm if I’m going to eat it with cream cheese.

Best Autumn breakfast/snack!

Enjoy!

xx

-C

Leave a Reply

