Belated 4th of July

Happy Belated 4th of July!

My attempts to be patriotic usually only go as far as dressing in red, white, and blue, and maybe making a dessert in that same color scheme. This year I failed on both. I got really close with an outfit though! But I just couldn’t find anything red to incorporate. I could have gone with red nail polish but my nails were too pretty of a light blue to go over just yet. Oh well. Should have gone with a bright red lipstick.

I love the buttons on this skirt. I’m all about button down things lately. Two of my favorite items: this white button down skirt, and my white denim button down shirt.

Tank Top: F21 Bodycon Tank (see here)
Skirt: F21 (old) (see similar here)
Shoes: Soda Espadrille Crochet Slip Ons (see here)
Braided Belt: F21 (old – actually came with a dress I bought from F21 a few years ago, I think it now accompanies some of their shorts…like this pair here)
Watch: Michael Kors (see here)

If you haven’t noticed, the Soda Espadrille Crochet Slip Ons are pretty much my every day shoe for this summer, if not those, then my black Havaianas.

On the 4th, I made some homemade iced tea brown sugar lemonade. Perfect pucker balanced with a deep molasses kind of sweetness from the brown sugar that paired wonderfully with a plain black tea.

Iced Tea Brown Sugar Lemonade

Recipe by me :]

6 large lemons, juiced
1 1/2 cups water
1/2 cup brown sugar (+/- however sweet you like your lemonade)
1 pot brewed strong black tea (I used 2 bags of English Breakfast), chilled

In a pitcher, combine the lemon juice, water, and brown sugar. Stir until the brown sugar is dissolved. You may add ice cubes if you wish, but I find this waters it down, so I just put the pitcher in the fridge to keep it cold. I also keep the iced tea separate because I like to watch the lemonade and tea combine in the glass. Your choice.

Serve chilled & enjoy!

Leave a Reply

