The Weekend

This past weekend was Mother’s Day, so per my mother’s request, we had a relaxed day of just hanging out, eating food, and watching Underworld: Awakening (my family members all have a common love for movies that revolve around werewolves, vampires, or zombies – this explains so much about me lol).

I made us a laid-back brunch of fresh fruit (it’s strawberry season!), coffee cake, and oven-baked spicy cheese fries (pictured below). My mom says I showed her up with the fries. haha. So of course you know I have to share the recipe!

 Oven-Baked Spicy Cheese Fries

Recipe adapted from Joy the Baker via Baked Bree

3 Tablespoons cornstarch
3 teaspoons chili powder
2 teaspoons cayenne
1 teaspoon paprika
1/2 teaspoon cumin
1 teaspoon taco seasoning (I added this just because I happened to have it in the cupboard – not necessary, just add a bit more chili powder and cumin)

1 Tablespoon garlic salt
6 medium russet potatoes, washed and sliced into wedges (or if you feel fancy, cut them into your preference for fry size)
3 Tablespoons olive oil
2 teaspoons Worcestershire sauce
2 – 3 Tablespoons black pepper
1 cup shredded cheddar cheese
2 Tablespoons chopped chives (optional)

*Note: Play around with the spices, you may want more or less, depending how spicy you want it – my family likes spicy so I did a pinch or so more here and there of almost all the spices.

(Serves 4-5)

Mix together cornstarch, chili powder, cayenne, paprika, cumin, taco seasoning, and garlic salt. Set aside.
Wash and cut your potatoes into wedges. Toss the potatoes with olive oil, Worcestershire sauce, and black pepper in a large bowl.
Sprinkle the cornstarch mixture over the potatoes.
Toss until the potatoes are completely coated. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper, and spray with cooking spray. (You can use foil, but some of the potatoes will stick). Put the oven rack in the center of the oven, and preheat to 375 F. Arrange the potatoes on the baking sheet in a single layer. Bake for 30 to 40 minutes. Turn them at least once, and also rotate the baking sheet.
For presentation purposes, I then transferred my potatoes to a cast iron skillet, but feel free to leave them on the baking sheet, or put them in a pyrex dish.
Cover the fries with cheese and put back in the oven until the cheese is melted – about 10 more minutes. Optional: Sprinkle with chopped chives.

There is also an option to add cooked bacon to this – but I didn’t have a chance to get to the store. If you want to add bacon and really make this decadent dish – cook the bacon while the potatoes are baking, crumble or chop up and sprinkle over the top when you add the cheese.

I recommend serving this with a good ranch dressing to cut the heat from the spices. I cheated and used one of those Hidden Valley Ranch packets and just mixed it with sour cream. It worked fine, as will any dressing/dip. Bleu cheese would also be good with this.

I definitely plan to make this again because it was fairly low effort given the results. I definitely recommend trying this for your next brunch gathering!

Time to return to writing my analysis paper. Need coffee/tea right now! It’s going to be a long night. Wish me luck!

xx

-C

 

Leave a Reply

