Grilled Cheese Creativity

I have been craving a good grilled cheese sandwich for a few weeks now, sadly during the week I’m at work so that just won’t happen unless I make it beforehand, but let’s be honest, no one wants to eat a cold grilled cheese. So on Sunday, I was in the kitchen staring at the apples on the counter, knowing I should eat one for lunch, but then inspiration hit and I suddenly had an overwhelming desire to have a grilled CHEESE & APPLE sandwich. And I don’t know why but my recently purchased horseradish stoneground mustard (the one used to make my Beer-Mustard-Cheddar Pull-Apart Bread) sounded like a good addition too. I told J what I was eating and he pretty much gave me a “you’re crazy” response. But I tell you, it was a delicious combination of flavors. Salty/savory from the cheese and crispy bread, spicy from the horseradish grain mustard, and sweet/slightly tart from the apples. If you like balance in your food, you will love this. So, I give you my grilled cheese creation #1 (I’ve kind of been inspired to try other flavor combinations after this…and as a wonderful coincidence would have it, there’s a list of 50 grilled cheese combinations in my last month’s issue of FoodNetwork Magazine).

Grilled Cheese & Apple Sandwich

2 slices of bread (I like whole grain oatnut)
Several slices of Havarti andย Jarlsbergย (I imagine this would be very good with a sharp cheddar as well)
1/2 an apple (just use whatever kind you have – I had a Washington Gala), thinly sliced
A good flavored mustard (Grey Poupon is a good choice, I actually just used a Safeway brand stoneground mustard with horseradish but it had a really great flavor)
Butter, room temperature

Assemble your sandwich as you please. I like to do bread, mustard, cheese, apples, bread. I don’t like too much mustard to overpower the apple flavor. Butter the top piece of bread. Heat a small frying pan over medium high heat for a few minutes, then carefully place your sandwich, buttered side down into the pan. Add in a slice of butter under one side of the sandwich. Let this cook for about two minutes, or until the cheese is melting and the bread is brown, and nice and crispy. As the sandwich is cooking, butter the top slice of bread. Flip the sandwich over with the use of a spatula (warning, because of the extra layer of apples, this may be difficult to keep the sandwich intact. But no worries, this is what spatulas are for. Also, any cheese that falls out will turn into crispy deliciousness.). Again, add a slice of butter under the sandwich. Let cook for another minute or two.

Eat and enjoy the flavor explosion in your mouth :]

xx

-C

Leave a Reply

