The Past Few Weeks – Part I

I really suck at posting consistently – I have three or four drafts that I’ve begun but then never finished. So that being said, the next few posts will be dedicated to the different recipes I’ve been testing out over the last few weeks (aka I will finish the draft posts I began).

I bought wonton wrappers with the intention of making homemade potstickers or siu mai…but the bottle of buffalo sauce in my fridge combined with hunger and family returning from out of the states later that night brought this late night snack into creation, and thus dashed away my plans to make homemade dumplings. Oh well. Another day perhaps. These were a lovely alternative (though not a substitute – I still want to make siu mai or potstickers!)ย that my family thoroughly enjoyed as a late night snack after a day of flights and airports.

Buffalo Chicken Bites

1 package Wonton Wrappers (I picked up a package of wonton rounds for $1.19 at 99 Ranch Market)
3 Chicken Tenders (or 1 large chicken breast) (chopped into large chunks – will be shredded later)
Frank’s Buffalo Sauce – Hot
4 oz Cream Cheese (softened – either let come to room temperature while the chicken is cooking, or microwave for about 20 seconds)
Garlic Salt
Black Pepper

Preheat oven to 350 F. Line a baking sheet with tinfoil. In a frying pan, heat about a tablespoon and a half of olive oil over medium heat. Add your chicken, and cook until white all the way through. About 5-7 minutes. Lower the heat, and season with a sprinkling of garlic salt and pepper. Shred the chicken (I take two forks and just pull apart the chicken). With the chicken still on low heat, add about 4 tablespoons of Frank’s Buffalo Sauce. Stir among the chicken to coat. From here, it is your choice to add more sauce. I like my chicken spicy so I added another healthy dose of sauce, which I would guess was about 4 more tablespoons. Remove from heat and allow to cool while you set up the wonton wrappers.
Fill a small ramekin (or bowl) with water to assist in closing the wrappers. Place a handful of wrappers flat on your pre-lined baking sheet. Using a butter knife, spoon, or whatever your choice of utensil, spread a small amount of cream cheese in the middle of the wonton wrapper. Top with a bit of the buffalo chicken (be careful not to add too much otherwise the wrapper will not close all the way. Dip your finger in the water and drag your finger all around the edges of the wrapper. Fold the wrapper diagonally (if using round wrappers, will make a semi-circle as seen in the picture; if square, will form a triangle). Pinch the edges closed. Repeat with remaining wonton wrappers.

Bake in the oven for 10-12 minutes, or until golden brown, flipping over at the halfway mark (5-6 minutes in). Let cool for 5 minutes as the filling will be hot.

These can be kept in an airtight container in the fridge for up to 3 days but the crunchiness will change to more of a chewy consistency after being in the fridge (either pop back in the oven for a few minutes to reheat, or microwave for 20 seconds). In my house they disappeared the same evening they were made – you’ve been warned. They’re a pretty low maintenance appetizer/snack to make and can be made ahead of time, and refrigerated until ready to bake.

2 thoughts on “The Past Few Weeks – Part I

Leave a Reply

