Happy Pi Day!

As you can see, another hiatus has occurred, unfortunately it happens from time to time. But I am returning on one of my favorite days…PI DAY!

March 14, or 3.14 is today and so it is necessary to consume pie :]

Happy Pi Day!

In celebration of Pi Day, I will be making a Blueberry Pie this evening. My plan is to use Ina Garten’s pie crustΒ recipe, filled with a 16oz bag of frozen blueberries, 3/4 cup sugar, a squeeze of lemon juice, a bit of cinnamon and nutmeg, a bit of cornstarch for thickening, and topped with some butter slices. 3 more hours til I’m off work and can dash home to make this! Can’t wait!

Another favorite day of mine is coming up – St. Patrick’s Day. Corned Beef and Cabbage is absolutely one of my favorite meals. And I love all the green themed desserts (hint: be on the lookout for a post regarding green themed desserts in the near future!).

I also love an excuse to dress up for holidays, and St. Patrick’s Day is no exception.

St. Patrick's Day Outfit

Above is my St. Patrick’s Day outfit which is almost entirely from H&M. Yay dressing up for holidays!
Must return to work but I will leave you with this…a new recipe! I was really wanting something with peanut butter and chocolate last week, and this recipe was the result.
Peanut Butter Chocolate Oat Bars (that taste like a Reese’s Peanut Butter Cup!)
1 cup butter (2 sticks)
1 cup crunchy peanut butter (I never buy creamy – also, I recommend Skippy!)
1 cup dark brown sugar (or any, I just like dark)
1/2 cup white sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 1/2 cups flour
1 cup quick oats (uncooked, I recommend Quaker)
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 cup (to 1 1/2…I kind of just grabbed a bunch of handfuls since I love chocolate lol) chocolate chips (+ 1 cup chocolate chips for topping)
Preheat oven toΒ 350 degrees. Grease an 8×8 glass baking dish. Mix together the butter, peanut butter, sugars, and vanilla until creamy. Add in the flour, baking powder, salt, and baking soda, until a dough is formed. Then add the oats and chocolate chips. Spread your peanut butter -chocolate-oat batter evenly into the pan. Bake for 20 – 25 minutes. Leave the oven on, but remove your pan. Spread about a cup, possibly more, of chocolate chips all over the top of the peanut butter goodness. Place back in the oven for another 3 – 5 minutes, or until the chocolate chips are melting. Then remove from the oven, and using either an offset spatula or a butter knife, spread the melted chocolate until the entire top is covered. This will create a nice hard chocolate candy topping. Let cool until the chocolate is hardened.
Slice and enjoy!
Happy Pi Day! And happy half-way mark of the week!
xx
-C
Leave a Reply

