12 Days of Desserts: Chocolate Peanut Butter Bars

12 Days of Desserts: Day 8

Chocolate Peanut Butter Bars (aka homemade Peanut Butter Twix!)

I’ve been wanting to make this for SO long, and now I finally have and it was delicious! I originally wasn’t going to make this part of the 12 Days of Desserts, but it’s so good, I had to share it now!

A chocolate sable cookie crust, a peanut butter concoction similar to the peanut butter in Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups, with a milk chocolate topping. DELICIOUSNESS.
I had to refrain from eating the whole tray, they’re so good! My family was skeptical as I made them, but now they’re all requesting I make another batch. Christmas morning snacks with coffee perhaps, or Christmas Eve dessert…or all of the above? :]

Chocolate Peanut Butter Bars
Chocolate Sable Crust is adapted from Miette, the rest is from me :]

Chocolate Sable Crust
1 cup all-purpose flour
1/3 cup natural unsweetened cocoa powder (I like Ghirardelli or Scharffen Berger)
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 cup butter, at room temperature (not melted)
2/3 cup sugar, plus more for sprinkling
1/4 teaspoon salt 
3/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/2 cup 60 percent cacao chocolate chips, finely chopped (I used the Ghirardelli 60% bittersweet chocolate chips) 

Line a 9 x 13 baking pan with parchment paper, and lightly grease (I just quickly rub my stick of butter that will be used in the recipe on the parchment).
Sift together the flour, cocoa powder, and baking soda into a bowl and set aside.

In the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, beat together the butter, sugar, salt, and vanilla until lightened, about 4 minutes. Add the dry ingredients and grated chocolate and mix just to combine. The dough will appear as moist sand (chocolatey sand that is).

Pour the dough into your prepared pan. Push down until it is fairly evenly distributed across the pan. You want it to be a fairly even thickness throughout. Sprinkle lightly with sugar.

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Bake for 15 – 18 minutes, the dough will begin to puff. Set aside to cool.

Peanut Butter Layer
1 cup peanut butter (creamy or chunky, I prefer Skippy Chunky)
1/4 cup butter
1/4 cup brown sugar (light or dark will work; I also used slightly more than 1/4 cup because, well frankly, I like brown sugar)
1 1/4 cups powdered sugar

In a saucepan, combine the peanut butter, butter and brown sugar over medium heat. Heat until completely melted (the mixture will begin to bubble around the edges), stirring constantly. Remove from the heat. Add the powdered sugar gradually, stirring until completely combined with the peanut butter mixture after each addition. Set aside and let cool.

Once cooled (and the cookie layer is cool), spread on top of the chocolate sable cookie layer.

Milk Chocolate Topping
3/4 cup milk chocolate chips (Ghirardelli milk chocolate chips are my preference)
3 tablespoons butter

In a microwave-safe glass bowl, place your chocolate and butter. Microwave for 30 seconds and stir until everything is combined and the chocolate has a silky look. If your chocolate is not melted, microwave for 15 seconds and stir. This should not take more than 45 seconds to melt all the chocolate and combine with the butter.
As soon as the chocolate and butter are combined, begin spreading on top of your peanut butter layer.

Cover the entire dish with plastic wrap and leave to set, for about 2 hours, though the longer you leave it, the better. I left mine over night and it was perfect in the morning.

So delicious! I made this as part of a goodie box for my friend, but now I definitely will be making it again next weekend for Christmas. Served on a plate, this decadent treat would make an excellent dessert. Or in bite size pieces, a sweet treat during the appetizer hour of your holiday party.

If you make nothing else from the 12 Days of Desserts list, make this one! If you like peanut butter and chocolate, this is the most amazing dessert for you!

Happy Eating!

xx

-C

2 thoughts on “12 Days of Desserts: Chocolate Peanut Butter Bars

  1. Oh my gosh, these look like sin on a plate. I would be in so much trouble if I made them…I would sit and eat the whole pan….And I would probably enjoy it lol! Thank you so much for linking up to Sunday’s Sweet Confessions over at mommy’s sweet confessions and being this weeks co-host! Have a great day!

    • Thank you for inviting me! It was a pleasure to collaborate with such a fantastic blog 🙂 I look forward to seeing the highlighted links during the week and also checking out the other link parties you listed – I never realized there were so many!

Leave a Reply

