12 Days of Desserts: Chocolate Chip Cookies

12 Days of Desserts: Day 2

Chocolate Chip Cookies

Chocolate chip cookies are one of those ultra comforting sweet foods for me. When I’m extremely stressed out, I will bake chocolate chip cookies to help me relax. They’re simple and delicious and don’t take that long to make. I also like to trade cookies for favors ^^
Chocolate chip cookies, my favourite currency. During the holidays, it’s also nice to gift cookie baskets to friends, family, and neighbors. These chocolate chip cookies are one of my favorites to add to a cookie variety basket. [Picture was lost due to my malfunctioning phone -__- I’m nearly positive J is laughing at me now as I always seem to make my phone malfunction, old or new. I have no comment]

Chocolate Chip Cookies

Recipe adapted from Nestle Tollhouse Chocolate Chip bag

2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour [I sometimes swap out 1 cup of flour for 1 cup of unbleached flour, it seems to make the cookies slightly heartier]
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt
1 1/2 sticks butter (softened)
3/4 cup granulated sugar
1 cup brown sugar
1 1/4 tsp vanilla extract
2 eggs
2 cups chocolate chips [or as much as you see fit. I start with 2 cups and see how it looks, and usually end up adding another handful more]

Preheat oven to 375Β°F.
Cream the butter, granulated sugar, brown sugar, and vanilla extract in a large mixer bowl. Add eggs, one at a time. In a separate bowl, combine the flour, baking soda, and salt. Gradually beat in the flour mixture into the bowl with your wet ingredients. Stir in chocolate chips (and optional 1 cup of your favorite nuts).
On your cookie sheet/baking sheet, drop rounds of the cookie dough. I form small balls of dough with my hands, but you can also use a teaspoon to do this. [Also recommended, use of a Silpat. Cannot tell you how much of a baker’s best friend this item is! If you don’t have one, add to your Christmas wish list!]
Bake for 8 – 11 minutes, or until the edges are just about golden brown, and the cookies are “set”. Meaning they do not wiggle wobble when you’re moving the cookie sheet. Allow to cool for a few minutes before removing from cookie sheet, otherwise your cookies will still be too hot and may break as you remove them, and also, you might burn yourself. Place on a cookie rack to cool. And of course begin to nibble on one as the rest cool.

Enjoy!

 

One thought on “12 Days of Desserts: Chocolate Chip Cookies

Leave a Reply

