Best news in weeks?!

My oven is fixed. This is by far the best news I’ve received in weeks.

I CAN BAKE AGAIN!!!

My joy knows no ends. Haha.

My grandmother’s birthday is tomorrow and since the oven is working again, I’ve decided to bring her a cake. She’s a huge fan of wine cakes so my mother suggested I make her one. I’m not usually one to make a cake with a cake mix (I like to use them but to do other things, like quick strawberry bars, or other things like that), but in this case I used one. Don’t judge me.

Sadly no “in progress” pictures, but here’s the recipe & an after picture.

Wine Cake

1 Box White Cake Mix (with pudding, if possible)
1 Box Instant Vanilla Pudding Mix
3/4 cup White Wine (I used leftover moscato)
3/4 cup Vegetable Oil
4 Eggs
1 tsp Ground Nutmeg (I have whole nutmeg, so I just hand grind this a bit and eyeball it) 

Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit. Grease and flour one 10-inch bundt pan. Combine oil, wine, cake mix, pudding mix, eggs, and nutmeg in a bowl, mix with an electric mixer for about 5 minutes, or until all the ingredients are combined. Bake at 350 degrees Fahrenheit for about 50 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean.

Let cool for about 10 minutes, then remove the inner part of the pan, and allow to cool on a rack. Remove the center part of pan after cake is entirely cooled. Garnish with powdered sugar or pieces of fruit and whipped cream.

Alternatively, if you would like to give the cake a textured crust, try flouring the pan with a cinnamon-sugar mixture. I also sprinkled some of the cinnamon-sugar mixture on top to give the entire cake a cinnamon-sugar crust. Adding this type of crust makes for a prettier cake, as it eliminates the white flour that would normally be present. It also makes it much easier to remove from the pan.

Recipe courtesy of my mother.

Super easy recipe, and quite tasty. Makes for a nice birthday cake for those not fond of frosting, or as a lovely tea time treat, or coffee accompaniment. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

