Hiatus over?

I certainly hope the hiatus is over. But with my oven still on the fritz I really haven’t been very motivated to make desserts…I know, how am I functioning without an oven – I have no idea -_-

This lack of an oven is making me reach out and try new things though. My sister and I made chili the other night, and what goes best with chili? Cornbread of course. But without an oven I was at a loss for how to make a nice thing of cornbread. Enter stovetop skillet cornbread recipe! I made it using a Martha Stewart Enameled Cast Iron Pot

Martha Stewart Collection Cobalt Enameled Cast Iron Chili Pot, 5.5 Qt.

Skillet Cornbread Recipe
Ingredients
½ cup fine white cornmeal [yellow works just as well]
½ cup sifted flour
½ teaspoon salt
1 ½ teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon sugar [I like my cornbread sweet so I upped this to 2 tablespoons]
1 egg, beaten
½ cup buttermilk (approximately)
1 teaspoon bacon drippings [I used crisco]
Directions
Sift together dry ingredients. Add egg and mix with enough buttermilk to make a soft batter. Grease a 10-inch skillet with bacon drippings and heat on stovetop. Pour in cornmeal mixture and cook over low heat on top of range. When brown around the edges, turn like a pancake (don’t cover pan or bread will sweat). [I think next time I won’t flip it because it ended up splitting down the middle :[ use discretion when deciding to turn or not.] Brown on the other side.Makes 3 or 4 servings.
Recipe courtesy of Dallas News
Leave a Reply

